Honorifics

In many social circles, my Dad was called Doc. The title was earned twice, but mostly the moniker paid respect to the fact that he was probably one of the cleverer of folks you could choose to be around.

His Dad was called Farmer. That was a bit of a question mark, since he taught agriculture. Sort of an inverse mode of address, a la Tiny in gangster movies.  Anyway when we’d walk to town together to get the mail, folks would wave and say “Hey, Farmer!”.   

Mom’s father was just called Pop. Seemed to be universal, but he never used any honorifics for anyone. You were either Bud or Sister.  Few words that man.

I tend to feel out of place if someone calls me mister or any of the other likely honorifics. I like either my given name or a functional role name in the context of the affair. So, I get it if there is an action in progress; it is important to have a chain of decision making.  I still answer to Bud though.   A lot of that is just taking the piss. But nothing really matters unless you answer to it.  

Then there is the sort of sarcastic honorific meant to intimidate. I used to get those calls on Sunday nights from mothers of failing college students. They’d pile on the titles in a vain attempt to cover a situation with confusion. It is a toddler’s tactic. Not unlike that which a few politicians practice.

You don’t have to call me “darling”, darling. But you never even call be by my name.

8 thoughts on “Honorifics

  1. My dad was a physician. I don’t recall anyone calling him “Doctor”. Maybe just perspective. I’m occasionally called “Miss” or “Mrs. or “Ms. K” by the local kids. Used to have a work associate who called me “Chief”. Maybe a little sarcasm… but it was okay. Servers down the hill… I get “dear” every now and then. Meh.

    Japanese is filled with them…
    -san is the standard suffix for an adult. -sama denotes some authority. You can throw an “o” in front for -osama to add some respect to the authority. -sensei if they’ve got something to teach. -osensei if they’ve been touched by a god and live on top of a mountain. -shinpu if you’re a middle-man for the gods on the mountain (or just God). -hakase… maybe for a uni professor. -senpai is probably sufficient for his intern. I think -dono and -odono have fallen out of usage… kinda’ like calling someone “Lord”. -shi, you’ll see in formal documents or sometimes newspapers, indicating having never actually met the person. -koutei and -kougou are reserved for the Emperor and Empress respectively. And there are more; however…

    Never… ever… introduce yourself with a title in Japan. “Watashi-wa Kumi-desu. Yoroshiku onegaishimasu.” [I’m Kumi-thing. Please treat me kindly.] Then you can hand them the business-card with the Ph.D. on it, and the recipient gets to decide what kind of thing.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Self titled reverends, pastors, and fathers are a bit odd, but they like funny clothes too. I don’t think my Dad ever was called Doc outside of his small circle of friends.

    Professor has somewhat more significance in a lot of places. But the German conventions are a bit excessive, with the multiple layers. Fits a hierarchical culture.

    I recall answering the door to a rotund, red-cheecked, and immaculately dressed fellow that introduced himself as a Lord. Turned out to be a really nice and able fellow, but just a little off putting at first. Kind of like stepping into Alice’s Wonderland.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Never put so much thought into it before. But I don’t think I ever called anyone mister without adding their last names. I usually just say “Sir” to a stranger in a formal occasions. In informal ones I introduce myself to mildly obligate them to do the same so I can call them “You” or call out to them when needed.

    I’ve been called “dear” “cariño” (spanish) and “kjære” (norwegian) by strangers (usually older motherly women) and truthfully I don’t care… it actually feels nice. But of course it all depends on how it’s said. So far I never felt it offensive.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. A review of the chemical constituents of Bidens Pilosa (otherwise known a beggar ticks…and many other derogatory names). It is a widely invasive aster that latches its seeds onto hair and clothing. However, it is also a praised source of medicinal chemicals and an easy source of nutrition. It is a pest on my property, but I have come to a new appreciation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment